Menopause

 

When we have been through the experience of Menopause we can understand the Highs and Lows that are experienced, and we can share them with our younger friends when they ask us just what the symptoms are and how we managed to live through them, with good humor and kindness. 

 Here is a complete list of typical symptoms, although most do not experience them all, and some may not even notice any of them. 

Hot flushes; Urinary problems; Mood swings; Sweats, especially at night; Weight changes; Headaches; Lack of energy; Forgetfulness; Palpitations; Bone pain; Sparseness of pubic hair; Increase of facial hair; Loss of fatty tissue in breast, hips and genital area; Vagina becomes shorter, narrower; Less lubrication during sex; Dryness of the vagina; Itchiness of the vulva and vagina; Sensation of ants crawling under the skin; Constipation or diarrhoea; Irritability; Depression; Sleeping problems; Giddiness; Breathlessness; Ear noises; Dry flaky skin; Dry hair;  Bloatedness; Phobias; Decline or increase in libido; Loss of self-control;Tingling and numbness in fingers.

To some women, the onset of Menopause is a worrying, or even frightening prospect — the “decline of years”, the “downhill slide”. 

This is an attitude that needs to be rejected, because Menopause when not viewed negatively is a blessing.

It is a new start, not an end in itself.

 In times gone by, grey hair and wrinkles were a sign to the young that “this person deserves to be respected”.

And this is the right view we need to have today of our Older Generation.

 Today, so much of our media focuses on the pursuit of youth and beauty, as if it were the total goal of existence. 

Stories of women and their “successful” facelifts.  Advertisements offering us hair dye and age & wrinkle reducing creams and also the value of exercise and never ending diets, and the magic of Vitamins and tablets to keep us fit and youthful both in mind and body.

And yes, we can take advantage of some of these things, and they may sometimes be of help and benifit us to some degree.

But remaining youthful and fit must never be our whole focus and passion, because true beauty comes from within and this should be our goal.  

Some  jokes which are meant to be funny, are really putting the aged down and get us to laugh at the symptoms of the senior years that may be sometimes part of the ageing process in our physical bodies too, the loss of memory, the decline of physical ability, and the loss of “youthful good looks”. 

 Yes, we laugh at these jokes, but inside we store them in our souls as a warning system that the senior years are something to be either laughed at or afraid of, and this is negative and not true .

We can accept our wrinkles, grey hair and age spots without fear that they devalue us.  They are the roadmaps of life a sign that we are travelling the road that God laid out for us in the beginning, because our time on this earth is in His hands. 

Age is in the Heart, not the body. It is a matter of the Spirit, not the years we have lived.

Although through these years we can gain something that is far more valuable, and offers the world far more than just a pretty picture…

Godly wisdom, knowledge, experience, kindness, compassion and understanding. 

And although the young can share their enthusiasm and passion with us, which we sometimes loose, aren’t they, like most of us, in desperate need of God’s Leading and Provision in their lives. 

The advance of years is Not something to be feared or regretted.They are not a step down, but rather they can be a change to a higher level of our understanding when we can appreciate and share the more important values of life and enjoy more fully the blessings we have been given.

 It is a time when, because of all the years we have lived, and the experiences we have gathered, we are able to share with others and be of assistance to those who want the benefit of Godly knowledge and wisdom that God has given us and continues to give those who seek Him…

These give meaning and purpose to all we have lived through, good and bad.

Yes, we can no longer move around as fast as we use to, but now, on our journey, we can stop and smell the roses, which means to appreciate and acknowledge our wonderful Creator and take a long, hard and admiring look at the beauty that He put there for us to see, that the wordly passions and the hustle and bustle of youth may have denied us.

The butterfly flitting from flower to flower.

The bird singing in the tree. 

 The rainbow after the storm.

The warmth and Joy of Loving relationships

and so much more…

All the things that we can now take the time to appreciate and be thankful for.

On our journey of life…

 We take along a travelling Companion, and Guide. 

God is with us every step of the way. He knows us and waits for us to seek Him with all our hearts, repenting and asking forgiveness. 

 Then He forgives, restores and continues to share our journey, and as we seek His Leading and Guidence through Each and Every day. He continues to give us His Love, Joy, Peace and Hope and in Jesus we have His Rest.

 God is Always by our side. And with Him at our side, there is Never anything to fear.

Psalm 92:14  They shall still bear fruit in old age. They shall be fresh and flourishing- (K.J.V)

13 responses to “Menopause

  1. i don’t like the way i feel, i hate it..i have so much pain..i have sweats i get fevers..i hurt..i’m taking black conosh if i spelled that right..it will help i just started it again yesterday..please pray..also i have to stop smoking and i can’t pray i can..

    • Dear Betty, I do hope your feeling better, have you tried Probotics you get them from the Chemist they build up your immune system which as we get holder weakens, I take them also because of the drugs I take for for my skin condition, I thank God for them, they have also stopped all the colds and flue I use to get, God often uses tools that we have available but He is the only Healer, all good things come from Him.

      Will continue to kee you in prayer Betty .

      Christian Love Anne.

      • hi anne yes i drink tea with them in it..i can’t afford to much sis..i just feel like i’m getting sicker..

        • Thats good, but they are only a tool Betty, God is the healer, remember Paul prayed 3 times for healing but at the time he was still dealing with fleshy pride but he didn’t give up and Timothy had ulsers and I still have bad feet, an Opp would be a risk but I have been healed of other things and I thank God for just helping me when it gets rough, I will share some of my faviourite Scripture with you and a prayer for your well being.

          Lamentations 3: 33 For He doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

          Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

          Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

          Dear Heavenly Father our compassionate and Loveing Daddy, I just ask for your arms be around my Sister Betty , touch her with you gentle Loving hands that she may feel strengthened in her body and spirit and may she have no doubts that you are with her at this very moment. I pray Betty will see the reality that you Love her greatly and understand the battle she is having and I pray too that she will also remember the battle is yours, regardless of how violent it gets and that you will never leave her to walk in it alone, in the name of Jesus our King of Kings.

          Betty as I prayed I thought of a Post I did, I will leave you the link and continue to pray for you.

          http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/the-battle-is-the-lords/

          Christian Love Anne.

            • That prayer brought tears to my eyes and I joined the two of you in prayer, too. I’ve found the battle to be the Lord’s too. For many months I couldn’t pray either but still kept trying, trusting the Holy Spirit to intercede for me with prayers that coudltn be uttered. Then in August my husband and I were blessed to receive spiritual help at a place in Sugarcreek, Ohio called Freedom Hills. There we spoke directly to Satan that we wanted to take back the ground we had yielded to him during our sinful past and we asked Jesus then, to reclaim it for Him, and there was complete freedom won for both of us. We’ve had to fight to keep it that way because Satan wants that ground back again, but by praying and giving Jesus the opportunity to fight the battle for us, Satan has not gotten it back. PTL! The battle truly is the Lords. Praise His Name!

              • God bless you…i have been so sick and some addiction issue’s please pray i am so blessed..

              • I nominated you for the award below.

              • Thank you mercifulwords you have been on my mind as I had not responded to you heartwarming comment for which I’m very sorry, I have had a lot of Blog Problems and needed to take time off from some of my Blogging.

                Your words are very uplifting and encouraging and I found this so on your Blog too, thank you for visiting my Garden, I pray you will be greatly blessed as you continue sharing the gifts God has given you.

                How wonderful that we have the Victory in Christ Jesus and when we walk as He walked the Devil flees, because we have come close to God.

                Christian Love Anne

  2. I went through premature menopause, too, because of cancer. It was certainly not something that you’d ever wish for on someone else, but God gave me strength, and just when I thought I couldn’t take it any longer, the hotflashes stopped and I returned to my normal self again. Only God could have done that. Thanks for sharing and giving the aged the respect and integrity they deserve. (Notice I didn’t say “we?” Ha)

    • Dear Mercifulwords, for some reason I missed your comment in February, I’m very sorry, I do try to respond to everyone and never delete anyones comments accept in extreme cases but if others delete me or threaten to do so without reason accept their own agenda then , I don’t visit them anymore, as you said about respect, it is a great rudeness.

      Thank you for your kind words and yes I do have great respect for the elderly and especially those who share Godly wisdom as well as life wisdom, they have my full attention. Being very honest, I love being 60, I feel a sense of having arrived and also because of having asked for God’s wisdom and receiving it, I have great assurance in His awesome Love for us, I use to have fleshy fear about Him but now I have great Peace and a certainty that His plans for me are wonderful and that all things will work out for good. I’m going to Post a Power point soon again on growing older that may also encourage you.

      Sorry again, Mercifulwords, I do hope you receive this reply and I will visit you soon.

      Christian Love Anne.

  3. Great pep talk! I can’t wait to menopause. I’m ready with God’s Grace.
    Thank You, Annie.

    • Hi Dei, yes my friend Menopause is nothing to fear or worry about I went through it when I was 42 after a Hysterectomy, they also told me at this time that when I reached 60 I would be a Paraplegic because of by birth gean defect but I’m not, yes I can’t walk for long distances and have to rest a lot but I manage well.

      As you have often shared, God is always with us, we never have to fear…Great reassurance.

      Christian Love Annie

Share your thoughts I value you and them

