Beauty for Ashes…..

 
Barn 1+
 
A stranger came by the other day with an offer that set me to thinking.
 
He wanted to buy the old barn that sits out by the highway.
I told him right off he was not thinking right.
 
Barn 2+
 
He was a city type, you could tell by his clothes, his car his hands and the way he talked.
 
He said he was driving by and saw that beautiful barn sitting out in the tall grass and wanted to know if it was for sale. I told him he had a funny idea of beauty.
 
Sure, it was a handsome building in its day. But then, there’s been a lot of winters pass with their snow and ice and howling wind.
 
Barn 3+
 
 The summer suns beat down on that old barn till all the paint’s gone, and the wood has turned silver grey. Now the old building leans a good deal, looking kind of tired. Yet, that fellow called it beautiful.
 
Barn 4+
 
 That set me to thinking. I walked out to the field and just stood there, gazing at that old barn. The stranger said he planned to use the lumber to line the walls of his den in a new country home he’s building down the road.
 
 
 He said you couldn’t get paint that beautiful Only years of standing in the weather, bearing the storms and scorching sun, only that can produce beautiful barn wood.
 
Barn 7+
 
  It came to me then. We’re a lot like that, you and I, only it’s on the inside that the beauty grows with us.
 
Barn 8+
 
  Sure we turn silver gray too… and lean a bit more than we did when we were young and full of sap. But the Good Lord knows and we don’t walk alone.
 
Barn 5+
 
 And as the years pass although He does not bring them He uses the hard weather of our lives, the dry spells and the stormy seasons for good and Trusting in Him to do so beautify our souls that nothing else can produce.
 
Barn 11+
 
And often folks holler because the want life to always be easy and so they don’t Trust God in the hard times!
 
Barn 9+
 
  They took the old barn down today and hauled it away to beautify a rich man’s house.
Story – Author unknown 
 
BarnRenovation 1+
 

Someday we too will go to the Heavenly Home where the Lord has prepared a place for us so beautiful and so wonderful that we cannot even imagine its dimensions.

 
There will be no storms or dry spells because we will have been prepared and made ready to enjoy all the Treasures that have been stored up for us by the works that God prepared for us to do in Jesus’ name even before we were, born, works that we have been  equipped and empowered to do by Him.
 
 This Treasure is not of sticks or straw or even bricks and mortar it cannot become weathered and decayed, it is of Love, Joy, Peace and Hope overflowing in abundance and these will not disappoint us.
 
 
So no matter what Storms or dry spells we face in life we are not alone and nothing nor anybody can destroy what the Lord has prepared for us, and as we serve and glorify Him in all we do and say…He will lift us up and give us a place of honour and we will walk with Him and talk with Him and our friendship will never end.
 
Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”
 
So we Trust the Lord everyday in  everything and know  He will use what ever comes to  prepare and equip us although we may not be aware of the role they play they will contribute to the Hope, Joy, and Peace we have and the Treasure that is stored for us in Eternity.
 
barn-building-
 
God is in the process of mouldering and shaping us and others, as we seek Him it’s His hand that guides us and it’s His Love that we share.
 
Through the good and the bad we give thanks because when we Love the Lord He works all things together for good… He tells us when we search for Him with all our heart we will find Him…How good is that!

Robin Robin a dear Blogging friend,  honestly shared her heart focus with us recently and also compared herself in her former years to  a Dirty old shack and we all are of course, that is why God tells us to clean our vessel and He empowers us to do so and then we are no longer clothed in ashes of sin but have the  beauty of Holiness within. 
 
2 Timothy 2 (20-21) But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use, and prepared unto every good work.
 
 Beauty For Ashes
 
Burnt barn
 
 
 Words – Beauty For Ashes
 
He gives beauty for ashes
Strength for fear
Gladness for mourning
Peace for despair
(repeat)
 
When sorrow seems to surround you
When suffering hangs heavy o’er you head
Know that tomorrow brings wholeness and healing
God knows your need, just believe what He said
CHORUS
 
When what you’ve done keeps you from moving on
When fear wants to make itself at home in your heart
Know that forgiveness brings wholeness and healing
God knows your need just believe what He said
CHORUS
 
I once was lost but God has found me
Though I was bound I’ve been set free
I’ve been made righteous in His sight
A display of His splendour all can see 
CHORUS(x2)
 

by Crystal Lewis

26 responses to “Beauty for Ashes…..

  1. Anne Thank you for sharing your link with me. This post really moves me, it is so beautiful and I just have no words to describe how it made me feel. I really really really really really really like this one so much I wish there was a love button. Thank you, I feel so very blessed right now.

  2. Thanks Anne for reminding us of Gods great renewing and energizing power ,through the old story of the guys old barn. Cause that’s just what He does when He gets hold of our old worn and dirty lives and changes them into reusable clean containers. Then we can reflect His power and love and it`s only through His Grace.

    Blessings Anne
    Ron

    • Hi Love, thank you for sharing and yes God does indeed draw us to repentance and we then choose to put our flesh to death by The empowering of The Spirit, and yes as you said it’s dirty and corrodes us, God’s vessels that He uses for the works He has prepared in advance for us to do just as the Scripture below tells us….

      2 Timothy 2:19-21 Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them that are His. And, let every one that nameth the Name of Christ depart from iniquity. But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and of silver, but also of wood and of earth; and some to honour, and some to dishonour. If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the Master’s use, and prepared unto every good work.

      Christian Love Always dear – Anne

  3. I have been reading Beauty for Ashes, such a unique post, so much history in old buildings wherever they are

  4. Hi Anne – What a beautiful post! I love the analogy of the old barn. As I’m growing older, the grey hairs are increasing, and I’m slowing down a little physically, but spiritually I feel God’s presence so much more than I did when I was younger. I’ve certainly weathered some storms in the past several years, and what a comfort it has been to have God with me through them all. The barn is such a great snapshot of this process! I also love the idea that the weathered wood is taken away and used in the ‘rich man’s house’. Thank you for your creative and thoughtful words. Blessings, Kerry (from Sydney Australia)

    • Hi Kerry, thank you for visiting, it’s so good to share with an Aussie again, I do Love the Americans and those from other Countries who have shared with me on my Blogs but I was just so excited to read your comment, I was also very blessed by your message about Trust, you do indeed have a gift of expressing your heart thoughts and there was much Truth in what you shared. I will you will see again soon.

      Most of my Stories I have received over the years by e-mail but I don’t know who the Author is, I mostly adapt them by adding a Christian content surprisingly it always fits in.

      As for grey hair, like yours mine is naturally streaked, so good, I don’t have to pay for it to be done but a bit of gravy browning liquid does help too when needed 🙄

      Thanks again Kerry – Christian Love Anne

  5. I want to give you this award i hope you will take it..

    • Thank you Betty, I really appreciate your kindness in thinking about me, have you Posted it also there is no link anyway I will visit you soon and check it out.

      Christian Love Anne

    • Sorry Betty I could not find where you had Posted this Award, could you please send me your Link but for now I will link it to your Blog.

      I like the Title of this Award, we do need to do this all the time, Jesus Christ gave up His life for us but not just so we would be forgiven of our past sins but that through Him we would be set free from the Slavery of Sin, which means when we are Born again of God’s seed 1John3:9 we no longer sin, sadly this Truth is not being taught today even though there are many Scriptures that confirm it.

      Salvation is a free gift but we show we have it from the heart not the head and our actions will always confirm it, when we are perfected in God’s Love.

      Thanks again, I will Phone soon – Christian Love – Anne

  6. Thankful the Lord restores us into a beautiful vessel. Love the barn pics too!
    God Bless You, Annie!

    • Hi Dei, thank you for your encouragment, your so faithful , it has really been a blessing Blogging with you and I very much appreciate your prayers for us ….now I need more……

      I have lost my Computer glasses and even though I have prayed and searched everywhere, even strange places like when I lost my purse I found it in the Fridge, it sure was cold cash but I still can’t find them, I may have left them at the Libarary or thrown them away, not sure how long I can write without them, I had a fall a few years ago and after needed my glasses changed as it changed my eyes and now I need Computer glasses too, perhaps Monty burried them, Hmmmm eye tooth decay………..Help I have lost it!

      Love you Dei – Annie

      • I broke my glasses recently, and I am now wearing a pair that is at least 5 or 6 years old. Praying the Lord touches both our eyes so we can be about His business of blogging. 🙂
        God Bless your sight, Annie.

        • Thanks Dei, I still might have to take a break till new glasses can be made but maybe I could cut down and just stay with the Bloggers I’m following now but then I really do visit where I feel lead to go and sometimes it’s more then once.

          Perhaps you need new glasses too Dei, our eyes do get strained Blogging, but I think it is worth it , standing up for Jesus outweighs the problems and risks.

          Cristian Love Annie.

  7. A beautiful story with beautiful meaning of the photos.:) I love the lyrics of the song too.:)

    God Bless you,
    Yen-Yen

    • Thank you Yen Yen, yes the story and words of the song are very beautiful and so is the Music but I could not find it in a mp3 format but I will try again.

      It is very True when we have God’s righteousness we always show it in our lives when we have been perfected in Love, if we mess up before this we seek God’s forgivness and Jesus stands up for us. God knows those who are His even before we are Born or Born again and He will bring us to perfection as we choose to allow Him, He never goes against our free will and as Jesus’ teaches us all things through the empowering of the Holy Spirit we will mature in His Love having asked for His wisdom and believed we have received it.

      Thanks for sharing Yen Yen, you are very special to me, it’s not a New year resolution but I hope to keep in touch more with you and my other blogging friends.

      Christian Love – Anne

  8. Hi Anne,
    I wanted to say that the story you told was beautiful, not just the poem.
    robin

    • Thank you Robin for sharing your thoughts, not just on my Blog but yours and others too, I see so much beauty in you as you seek our Loving Heavenly Father, who would never hurt you or me or anyone, He loves us to much to do so.

      I know you have suffered so much pain dear Robin, I’m crying as I write this, I still feel your pain sometimes when I read your messages and God does too. When His little ones are abused as we were, or even as Adults, God suffers with us, it was not His will that your earthly father hurt you or that my birth mother hurt me, it was not a plane of His to perfect us or to willingly allow it so He could use it for good, but He turns our tears to ones of Joy and does work everything for good.

      Although He hated what your father did to you Robin and that your Mother did not stand up for you either, He Loved them enough to send Jesus His beloved Son, knowing He would willingly be killed for them and all of us because of our sin so we could be forgiven and also be healed and set free from it.

      When I thought later in life Robin, what I would do if my birth mother tried to find me, I had to deal with a bad response, so I knew I had not forgiven her in my heart and this would in the end eat away all the beauty in me just like Cancer does our health, so I asked Jesus to help me forgive her and everyone who had hurt me or does now, I still feel pain when they do but I don’t seek revenge anymore and I even have Love and compassion for them.

      My Mum was an Alcoholic, my first husband repeatedly bashed me even when I was pregnant, but he had been tortured as a child and perhaps so had my mother, I’m not saying that it is ok what they did to me but I pray they will be healed through seeking forgiveness in Christ Jesus.

      I Love you dear Robin as God does because He first Loved us, your friend always – Anne

      • Hi Anne,
        Your love is so heartfelt. And I didn’t know how much you’d gone through as a kid too. We are sisters to the heart. We both have our one heavenly Father together. He is healing both of us!!
        love to you my sister,
        robin

  9. Hi Robin, I’m so pleased you were blessed by this Story and the Song and yes I agree the words are beautiful, God Loves us so much and when we seek Him He does indeed work it all out for good, even a big mess!

    Many Blessings my dear Robin – Christian Love Anne

  10. Hi Anne,
    Thank you for that encouragement about my post. It means a lot coming from you.
    “because “WHEN” we Love the Lord He works all things together for good”
    I NEVER thought about the “when” before – but this makes soooo much sense!!
    love to you my sister,
    robin
    also – I loved that song at the end of your post! I love analogies between this world – and the heavenly one. You got your idea across very clear to me. This was a beautiful and very understandable post. I will remember remember this one.
    rc

    • Hi Robin, I’m so pleased you were blessed by this Story and the Song and yes I agree the words are beautiful, God Loves us so much and when we seek Him He does indeed work it all out for good, even a big mess!

      Many Blessings my dear Robin – Christian Love Anne

Share your thoughts I value you and them

